Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

R150F Transmission removal

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2015, 07:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm doing my freeze plugs and rear main seal and removing my transmission, Manual, R150F on 1995 4wd 4Runner.

The FSM says to remove front differential set bolts (3) which I can't find then, support the front differential. Haynes says to support the engine under the oil pan with a block of wood/jack.

Question: If I cannot support the engine via the oil pan because the front diff is in the way, should I put some sort of support between the oil pan and the front diff, and support the front diff with a jack/jackstand? Would that be safe?

I'm stumped, this is my first time and I dont want something royally screwing up.
Old 06-10-2015, 07:34 AM

Example pic of oil pan
Old 06-10-2015, 08:18 AM

I wedged a block of wood between the oil pan and the top of the front diff and left it at that when I did my clutch ('88 pickup, 3vz-e/R150, 4WD) last summer. I don't recall having any issues. I did leave all 4 wheels on the ground for the job if it matters.
Old 06-10-2015, 09:24 AM

ok I got that and it seems to be working. I'm having a really hard time getting the last bolt out of the very top transmission housing.. I've got 24" off extensions but can't for the life off me get the bolt loose from this horrible angle.. ideas? I dropped the trans about 3 inches to get extra room but still can't get it..
Old 06-10-2015, 09:43 AM

If it one of the ones at the top of the bell housing I borrowed a flex head socket from my dad when I did mine. It was an SAE size but it worked okay.
Old 06-10-2015, 09:46 AM