Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Overdrive suddenly doesn't work anymore?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2013, 10:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overdrive suddenly doesn't work anymore?

My 4runner is a 1990 v6 4x4 automatic pushing 275k. Runs great, no issues. I am a driver who constantly uses the O/D button when I'm driving anticipating hills and for passing cars. I use my O/D like a stick shift.

Problem: All of a sudden it doesn't work anymore. When I push the button on/off, I get no light in the dash and I get no answer from my tranny. So clearly it is "stuck" on, which is better than being "stuck" off . . . and I can live with this "problem" because obviously the truck is driving normal. However, it is super annoying and I miss being able to shift it.

It seems to me that this could be a fuse, but my investigation of the owner's manual and the online forums haven't yielded anything telling me how to troubleshoot this. I mean, it's not like it was malfunctioning or has slowly died . . . it's just all of a sudden non-functional.

The other forums on overdrive seem to be people that have trouble with function while the O/D button is working normal. I am 99% certain that my problem is the tranny just isn't being told to shift either because the button is now broke, or a fuse somewhere is out. Or if the light burns out on the dash, will that break the circuit and prevent it from shifting? I was thinking maybe the bulb burned out and that is like a fuse??

Thanks for any help.
Old 05-31-2013, 11:42 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Mexico
Or if the light burns out on the dash, will that break the circuit and prevent it from shifting? I was thinking maybe the bulb burned out and that is like a fuse??
When you push the O/D off button, that closes a contact which grounds the OD pin in the ECU, and grounds the O/D Off light on the panel.