Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

odometer speedometer problem

Old 03-24-2009, 01:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
odometer speedometer problem

Both my speedo, and odometer do not work. When I bought the truck the odo worked fine but the speedo didin't, after a couple of weeks the odo stopped counting....

I've been driving the truck for atleast 6 months with no odometer, this really bugs me. I'm not too worried about the speedo, my old s10 never had a working speedo and I drove that for years with no problem.

I pulled what I think is the speedo gear out of the t-case one day to check it out, everything looked fine on the gear, none of the teeth were missing or chewed up. I'm wondering if it's a wiring problem or maybe fuse? I don't really know.

Anyway, I would like to know if they both work off the same sensor, or part, so when I order a new part I know what to look for. Are they a seperate part? How much does it cost to repair myself.

Has anyone else had a similar problem? How was it fixed?

EDIT: it's a 92, 22re, 5spd, etc.

Last edited by mattaway; 03-24-2009 at 01:39 PM.
Old 03-24-2009, 01:40 PM

What year is your truck? Reason is because some are cable drive and some are electric.

If it's cable drive, it could be either the cable or the speedo unit.

If electric, it's a little more complicated.

In either case, both the speedo and the odo operate off the same driving source. My wag is that because your speedo stopped first and then your odo that it's a problem with the speedo head. Cheapest way to fix that is via ebay where speedo clusters are readily available. Or, maybe a parts yard.
Old 03-24-2009, 01:47 PM

It's a 92.
Old 03-24-2009, 05:36 PM