86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Non ethanol gas.........

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2014, 11:09 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Non ethanol gas.........

I don't want to start a gas war here, just a couple quick questions. I have been running the non ethanol fuel for about 6 months now. No problems at all, until today. My truck when it's cold like it is (-5 ambient -20 with windchill) always cranks hard, but it always seems to start. I let it warm for 3-5 mins till the coolant warms about the c, then go on my merrry way not going past 1/4 throttle till it warms up. Today I drove it to work just fine. After a 12 hour shift, come out and it cranks over but won't fire. I probably tried for a good 30 mins till the battery died. i would get close to firing but never did. Went back in got extension cord, and hooked it up to a battery charger. let it sit for 30 minutes and tried again. Still nothing. Called dad, because dad always knows, said"your fuel line is frozen." I thought whatever but walked down to the quickie mart and got two bottles of heet and put it in. I let it sit in the fuel for 45 mins trying every so often to see of it would go. About an hour in, it finally fired, and idled like nothing had ever happened. Do you guys think it was simply because i use non ethanol fuel that it froze? so the heet worked and that was it, lesson learned use heet every other tank? Or could it be something more? What are thoughts on the non ethanol fuels? First winter with my truck in the frozen tundra we call Minnesota.
Thanks
Woody
Old 01-21-2014, 11:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Usually it's gas with ethanol that gets water in it. I've read that ethanol absorbs water that's in the air over time. They say not to run ethanol gas in outboards. I run it in mine and haven't had any problems. Interested in other replies as well

Last edited by JasonYota; 01-21-2014 at 11:35 AM.