Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

New Truck

Old 05-30-2009, 04:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Truck

so i ended up selling my 88' to and found this 92' that i purchased. turns out the guy had no clue about the truck. it has 60,000 original miles on it, you can tell it has never been off road or driven much. so here she is. this is my first time trying to upload pictures so hopefully it works out.

so i got some questions. the temperature gauge doesn't work, it will start out showing cold when i start it in the morning and after it should be warmed up it will go up just past the cold side, no where near the middle. then randomly it will go down slowly, or up a bit. i really want to fix this. i figured it wasnt the gauge itself being bad cause it does actually move. so i was thinking it is either the thermostat, or temperature sending unit. so i was looking in my haynes book and i havent had time to check the thermostat so see if that is what it is. but i can not find the temperature sending unit at all. i looked for quite a while can any one point me in the right direction to where it is. the book says it is on the front of the intake manifold, but i did not see anything that looked like the picture in the book.

also i got another question, while i was looking for the sending unit i noticed a wire that was not connected to anything, i could not find what it might plug into here are some pictures of it.

can anyone tell me where this wire plugs into?

my truck does not have a/c. i was thinking it might be a wire that would be needed if a/c was in my truck, but i didnt know. can anyone help.
thanks
Justin
Attached Thumbnails New Truck-truck-004.jpg   New Truck-truck-005.jpg   New Truck-truck-006.jpg  
Old 05-30-2009, 05:49 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
yea i think it is an ac wire.

nice truck!
Old 05-30-2009, 05:54 PM

thanks!