Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

New to Toyota

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2016, 12:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Toyota

Hello everybody! I am fairly new to Toyota and need some help! Ive got an 88 removable top 4runner with a 22re/w56 combo. last November the 4runner was running like crap and had coolant in the oil turning it into a sludge color. I was going to just do a head-gasket to resolve this issue, while i was tearing down the motor while still in the rig i was inspecting the cam and came across lots of scarring so i checked the bearings and they were shot. Curiosity took upon me to check out the crank bearings so i removed the motor from the rig and tore it completely down and found that the crank bearings were shot as well. I took the components to a local machine shop where I have had several of my Chevy motors done before, i ended up getting it short blocked and an RV cam to replace the stock one i also had him rebuild the head and change the springs in it to compensate. it took me 2 months to put the motor back together beings i work 12 hours a day and don't have much free time to work on it. I've within the last month got it back in the rig and all hooked up, and its not starting. ive double checked the timing. TDC on the compression and crank marked at 5 for injected motors, replaced all the vacuum lines and replaced 2 injectors. it turns over and cranks smoothly and if i hold it for about 15 seconds it starts to catch and runs for 10 seconds on its own before dying out. I tried using the Diagnostic short but the check engine light constantly flashes without giving any notion for a code. I am looking for suggestions and what i can do to get it actually started on its own. Any help would be appreciated!
Old 08-28-2016, 01:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post