Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New Project Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 01:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Project Suggestions

Hey,
this is my first post on here, but I've been reading YotaTech for quite a while now. There's so much imformation! I first wanted to thank everyone for sharing their knowledge and experiences so freely. . . Now I need some advice.

So, I live in Southern California and just picked up 1988 4runner to be my new project. It's not in the best cosmetic shape, but there's no rust (or at least very minimal rust)! I have a couple thousand saved up from my summer internship (I'm an engineering student), and was thinking of doing some light mods to the truck just to start out before I got to the engine. the 22re does have a valve tick when warm, but just passed smog and seems like it will last a couple months before I can get to a rebuild.

First of all, I was planning on getting some new off-road rims and 33" tires because the previous owner put on some late model tacoma rims with retreaded tires ... not the best. At the same time, I want to install a 3" or 4" WabFab lift and do a cheapo rattlecan paint job.

These are just some thoughts that I had.... I would greatly appreciate any and all advice that this community is willing to offer me.

Oh yeah, I'm only planning on doing some light trail 4wheeling and maybe some sand in the future.

Thanks,
Steve-O
Old 07-23-2008, 01:27 PM

What kind of engineering are you doing? I'm an ME.

As for the truck, can't go wrong with LOCKERS.
Old 07-23-2008, 01:33 PM

sweet.

I'm a Junior general engineering major at Harvey Mudd College with a focus in bio-chemical and mechanical engineering.

I was reading about lockers... How much do they run? and who makes good ones?
Old 07-23-2008, 01:36 PM
Contributing Member

SEARCH.... there are a lot of options and a whole lot more opinions. Decide what you want your rig be capable of then go from there.
Old 07-23-2008, 01:39 PM