Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

New member, new to toyota toys..bought something silly

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2015, 12:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New member, new to toyota toys..bought something silly

Howdy guys, I bought a project that somebody threw a lot of money at, beat, and got bored with. The goal: massage out the issues, tidy up a few things before they become issues or at least make them less embarrassing, and then either see about dialing back the craziness a little, selling it, or trading it for something less crazy. I'm moving to Alaska in the spring and I'm going to be living basically out in the woods for the summer, etc, so i need something pretty serious but probably not this serious.

I also don't know what all the parts on this are from, any help pointing out some of the borrowed parts would be very much appreciated. I'm an import tech with ~8 years and 5 ASE certs under my belt, but none of my customers bring me anything this wild, and up to this point I've been a Jeep and Land Rover guy. Looks like the front axle is off a land crusher, I can't think of anything other yotas that use that style of axle, the rear axle looks like something out of a late 90's 4skinner, but it could be land crusher as well? Both axles seem to be the same width. Trans looks stock for the 5vz aside from the dual transfer cases, I have a hard time imagining that the pumpkins have stock gears in them even with the 3.4, I haven't lifted the axle up yet to check for limited slips or to estimate gear ratios.