Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New Beginings - To build or not to build.

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2012, 10:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
New Beginings - To build or not to build.

This is part 2 from my "Where the h*** did my power go?" thread which has been deleted. I still have that problem where only 3 cylinders work But....

GREAT NEWS!
A buddy of mine finally has the time to help me. I am in the process of removing the motor and I have just about everything disconnected. The motor should be out within the next few days.

My plan is to take everything out and paint the bay all black. Back to the future is BACK!

My motor has 290k on it and this is all new to me. I have never done this before. My friend took out his celica all-trac motor twice (more then I ever did) and my other friend is a yota guy. If we miss or forget anything, we'll call him and he should pick up our pieces .

I'll have to find a machine shop to do whatever it is they need to do. I also have the rebuild kit from engnbldr .

However, I've found a website that delivers new motors and is in my area (Bay Area).

http://www.japanengine.com/products/...&search=&page=

I was thinking the complete package for 1700.00 but I am not certain, yet.

Rebuild or new motor?

Does anyone know of any good machine shops in the bayarea? What are the general costs ... again I hate to say this .... I AM A COMPLETE NEWB!
Old 12-18-2012, 05:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Before changing out for a new engine, I'd verify what's causing the bad cylinder. Most common dead cylinder problem I've had in my years of Toyota ownership is injector wiring. If it's bad valves or a burnt piston then you can consider a rebuilt unit. Nothing worse than wasting a weekend (not to mention the 1700 for the reman) o Lu to find you've still got a dead cylinder.
Old 12-18-2012, 05:57 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts