Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need to rant a little

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2008, 09:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need to rant a little

Hello all,

Well it happened again. I made the mistake of having a repair done at a local shop that i've never used before and now I'm paying the price. Actually I usually just go there for oil changes and nothing else. I knew my brakes were bad and was probably going to have to replace the rotors because of that funny grinding noise (that was a joke by the way). I knew the rotors were toast. Anyhow I've just been putting it off. Not my primary driver so I wasn't that worried about it. Anyhow the mechanic tells me something i didn't know. You need brakes and tells me maybe he can just put pads on, (knowing that would never work) and he finally admits that it needs rotors. First quote 500.00. told Him i would get it done later. guy talks to his manager and he comes with with another price of 378.00. That should of been my first clue. Wow...a mechanic that will haggle. How cool is that. Anyhow I asked a stupid question. Are you guys familiar with 4x4 axles? Sure he says....trust me. I really wasn't looking forward to doing it myself and even though i knew i could do it even cheaper than the low price they quoted me i figured what the heck. So I let them do it. Trucks there about 2.5 hours. to me that was a little quick. Anyhow didn't question it. Anyhow...now it's pulling to the right so i have the unfortunate pleasure of going back to them and telling them they screwed something up. The purpose of this post I think is to get some backup on my thoughts. it has auto hubs so no hubs to disassemble. I've never done auto hubs before so i guess i was wondering what could they have screwed up? Could they have tightened up one of the axle nuts to tight? Maybe a sticky caliper? What do you guys think. Oh also as soon as i got home i checked the fluid level and it was over