Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Misfire Help?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2011, 04:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Misfire Help?

I'm new to this, and could use some advice. Please forgive my ignorance. I'm trying really hard to learn how to work on my truck on my own, and I would really like to get this old truck fixed up.

Its a 1991 pickup a 22re 2.4L 4 cylinder

So I had my truck at my mechanics, and I asked them why my engine would shake every few seconds. They told me that was common for an older engine. Then I start getting this vibration problem that I have been trying to figure out. While I was working on it, I noticed that with every shake there was a PUT noise out the tail pipe. So I start looking into misfires, and it turns out that vibrating is sometimes caused by a misfire.

So I think I have a misfire. I just put in a new TPS, and my idle greatly improved, but when I rev the engine the misfire is still there. I didn't have an OHM meter to install the TPS, like the fsm says to use, so I just turned it while the engine was running. I hope that was okay to do.

So I ordered a fuel filter, and I was thinking of picking up spark plugs tomorrow. I hope its not the chain, but its got a 140k, and it possible that has never been changed. If anyone knows any good how to's, please let me know. I have never even timed an engine before, but I am willing to give it a try.

Its weird, it only misses about every 5 to 10 seconds.

I hope I didn't damage the engine, because I have been driving it like this for a while due to what my mechanic told me. Do you think I could have toasted my cat?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-28-2011, 02:30 AM