Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Looking for quick advice on LCA

Old 03-18-2010, 10:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for quick advice on LCA

Yes, I'm a newb on here. I have been reading/looking at all the posts regarding lower control arms for about 3 hours now, and I haven't found exactly what I'm looking for.

I'm finally getting around to making repairs on my old truck that has been sitting for 2 years. It was already lifted and had been ridden hard before I ever bought it. Unknown UCAs, unknown shocks, Powerbar torsion bars, and rear shackles. It might have an add a leaf, I'm not really sure.

I knew it had a bent passenger side UCA and cross shaft, so in addition to those, I am replacing all 4 ball joints, both control arms w/ new bushings, shocks, and brake calipers. (the calipers seized up from sitting so long)

First mistake: I started with the easy side, the driver's side. All of that went very well considering the tools on hand and working on the ground. Moving to the side with the known problems is proving to be more interesting.

First thing I noticed was that the passenger side suspension seemed to be locked out in full extension. The front was being supported by stands just like how everybody else does it. But when I tried to jack up the suspension, (under the lower ball joint, on the bolts sticking down) it would almost immediately lift the truck off the stand, without any compression from the suspension.

I carefully removed the shock, both ball joints and the UCA. It is still locked out, which means it's the LCA, right? Upon closer inspection, it looks like the LCA is pushed towards the front of the truck, causing it to rub on the frame support on the back. See pictures below

Here is the passenger side LCA, showing the lack of clearance at the rear mount

Here is the same spot, different angle

Here is the front mount of the same LCA

Here is the rear mount of the driver side LCA