Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Long High idle after start up

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2011, 12:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Long High idle after start up

Its a a 1991 puck up. I've been driving this truck since 2003 and even in warm weather it takes a super long time for the idle to kick down. Is there a way I can adjust it so it kicks down sooner. I know it doesn't need that much warm up time. Any help would be appreciated. Jim
Old 12-20-2011, 05:02 AM
Contributing Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Help us out.

What engine?

Define "super long time".
Old 12-20-2011, 05:17 AM

Originally Posted by Marc
Help us out.

What engine?

Define "super long time".

Its a 22re
I will take a clock to it later today
thanks for the reply
Old 12-20-2011, 08:27 AM

my v6 takes too long in my opinion too. my only complaint
Old 12-20-2011, 09:48 AM

my 22r does the same thing and I hate it
Old 12-20-2011, 10:04 AM

my 3vze is the same way sounds like its just a toyota They do design everything way overkill after all lol
Old 12-20-2011, 10:40 AM
Contributing Member

Without knowing any specifics regarding how long it is running at high idle I would say it sounds like you have a problem with the vacuum idle up valve... it may be sticking or there may be a slight leak in the vacuum line running to it...
it is a small round [black] device with a steel piston coming out one end that pushes against a spring loaded lever that is connected to the throttle linkage on the side of the throttle body [or carb if you have a 22r] when a high idle is needed the valve pushes the piston out which acts against the lever and advances the throttle. When the high idle is no longer needed the piston retracts and the throttle returns to normal.