86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Lockright locker install into V6 rear-write-up with pics

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2009, 07:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lockright locker install into V6 rear-write-up with pics

I just wanted to show everybody how easy this actually is on a V6 3rd. I was a bit nervous to do this, but after reading other installs on the 4cylinder 3rd's and hearing people say the V6 3rd is easier, I decided to just go for it. I am by no means a professional. I did this in my garage with simple hand tools. I am not saying my directions are perfect or they are to be followed by others. The directions supplied in the kit should fill in anything I have left out so you can make your own observations and install your locker the way you want to. I'm just giving a general idea of what has to be done to install this locker into a V6 rear. With that being said....onto the pics and stuff.

Lockright 1620-LR installation into Toyota V6 rear
First step is to block the front tires, front and back. Since the rear tires will be in the air and you don't want it rolling.

Jack up the rear and remove the rear tires(you actually don't have to remove the tires, but I wanted the extra room).

You don't have to remove the drum, but I wanted to see how my brakes were looking. About time for new pads....

The drum isn't looking too hot either.

Drain the differential fluid and enjoy that smell because you're going to be swimming in that crap for the rest of the day.

While the fluid is draining, disconnect the rear driveshaft(4 bolts with nuts)and move it out of the way.

Remove the 4 nuts holding the axle housing to the drum assembly and disconnect the brake line. You will have to bleed the brakes when it's all back together.

Unbolt the e-brake cable holder so you have enough slack to pull the axle out.