Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

LEDs in Dome/Cluster/etc.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2009, 01:27 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
LEDs in Dome/Cluster/etc.

I've read through every thread on this section of the site for information on replacing the stock cluster lights, dome light, and license plate lights (broke them removing my bumper) and I think I have everything sorted out. I have a non-SR5 cluster without a tach, so I'm not sure my light choices are correct though. At the worst, I'll just have some leftover LEDs. If anyone has replaced the lights in their non-SR5 cluster, let me know if these parts are correct.

Hopefully this thread will be helpful once I'm done for people who are considering replacing their stock weak green interior lights with something new. I've never done anything like this before so I have researched as much as I can. This is what I'm buying from www.superbrightleds.com, the recommended site from people here:

For the dome light: 1x High Power 2-LED Festoon bulb $ 6.95 Cool White 3022-CWHP2; Total: $6.95

For the instrument cluster: 4x WLED-x5 LED Wide Angle LED bulb $ 2.99 $ Red WLED-R5; Total: $11.96

For the climate controls, instrument cluster, and clock: 5x 74-xHP3 Wedge Base LED bulb $ 3.49 Red 74-RHP3; Total: $17.45

For the rear license plate: 2x Bolt Beam 5mm LED Light $ 2.49 White 5B-W; Total: $4.98

If you can't tell by the parts description, I'm replacing the stock 3022 festoon bulb with a two-LED bulb. It's rated for 24 lumens, so it won't be really bright, but it should be bright enough. I'm going to add accent lights in the future anyway.

I'm replacing the instrument cluster lights with the 5-LED 360 degree angle #194 type, and the 3-LED 360 degree angle #74 type, both in red. I have always wanted red interior lights while driving because you can see the road so much better in my opinion.