Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Just got my first 'Yota

Old 03-07-2012, 08:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just got my first 'Yota

Just got my first 'Yota-kf4y0.jpg

Got this truck with with 22r 170k miles for $3700, wadda ya think good deal or no? Im not a mechanic and I didn't have it looked at by a mechanic but I'm not really too worried about it, maybe I should be whatever. I drove in a strait line and hit the brakes while not holding on the steering wheel and it stopped in a strait line, I put it in 4 low and started turning slowly to see if the 4x4 works and it does and I also ran my finger around inside the frame to check for rust and none was detected Wadda ya think of my truck checking-out skills? What else should I have checked that I still need to check?
power steering but the previous owner installed it, after driving away I noticed ( . . .) that when
I turn tight circles it sounds like something is catching on something, to me it sounds like a piece of
sheet metal being "flicked", doesn't seem like a big deal but tomorrow morning I'll be working on it
for sure. Anybody got any tire size and gear ratio suggestions with no lift in mind? just want a badass
truck that I can drive somewhat frequently, also where can I find some type of list of all things that
need to be maintained and all known mechanical issues, previous owner was saying something about keeping a part of the suspension or steering lubed. Around 170k miles what should I be planning on replacing soon that kind of stuff, pretty much just any general nooby yota owner advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

Last edited by OMGitsBigCheeze; 03-07-2012 at 08:20 PM.
Old 04-06-2012, 05:21 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Moved to section where others can post

Welcome to Yotatech

:wabbit2:
Old 04-06-2012, 06:21 AM

Received 215 Likes on 157 Posts