Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Im thinking trany is shot?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2012, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im thinking trany is shot?

I can put it in drive,2, or 1 and pretty much go nowhere or go real slow. I checked fluid levels they seemed really low so I put 2 quarts in. I followed instructions ..warmed up vehicle to operating temp shifted into all gears it felt as if it locked however if you give it any gas it barely goes. However if I put it in reverse I go just fine.

so I think the best option beside rebuilding a trany and I have never done this before would be to do a 5 speed manual swap. What vehicles can I pull one from that are an easy swap and what kind of mess am I looking at transfer swap or is it integral as well? its a 91 4runner 3vz auto at the moment.
Old 03-20-2012, 08:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
soul, if u do a little looking there are many write ups on doing and parts needed for a 5 speed swap. also u will be looking for 89-95 4runner or truck trans,

parts list,

trans, drive shaft 2 inchs longer then ur auto one , clutch, flywheel, bolts for flywheel, and pressure plate, pedal assy out of donor truck, master and slave cly. hard and soft line, boots for shifter into cab, little wiring,some people like to also change the ecu. i didnt do it, if u look up my name for threads started u will find write ups on the wiring. if u dont swap ecu,
Old 03-20-2012, 08:55 PM

well this is my daily and to be honest I have to get it back on the road asap ... so esecially after seeing that list of needed parts it would be impossible to pull off in a couple of days so Im now think a first time to rebuild an auto tranny.. yea

I looked up a rebuild kit from advanced auto and its 275$ for Pro-King rebuild kit.

is there a better complete kit to get ?
Old 03-20-2012, 09:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post