Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

HELP MY 87_4×4 sr5 pickup. Won't start

Old 05-09-2017, 02:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP MY 87_4×4 sr5 pickup. Won't start

I am new to being a owner of a toyota and i had a blown headgasket ..so after some time, i gathered up enough money and purchased a new cylinder Head and gasket set . This is the old cylinder head.
New gasket, cleaned head .
New cyllinder head on new gasket .
Almost finished at this point i was saveing more money for new vacume hoses and new v belts,new throttle cable. But all this is my first rebuild , with not much knowledge on toyota or really any thing this deep in maintenance .after lots of searching and diagram after diagram .ect everything is in the right spot to my best knowledge (no leaks im getting fuel all my plugs are back were they came off of but my truck wont start it almost sounds like it is close to starting but nothing checked my plug wires and set timeing on distributor and engine at tdc any advice will help
Old 05-10-2017, 12:39 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

As long as your air intake is disconnected it is not going to start .

Do you have everything all connected ??

Gas in the tank ?? You would not be the first one to not have enough fuel.

ECU ground on and clean and tight

distributor in correct not 180 Degrees off

A few things to look into
Old 05-10-2017, 06:54 AM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Let's see a photo of your engine as it sits right now. In your photo, the fuel line isn't connected and you've got no exhaust manifold. I'm assuming you have it all built right, but a little more info can only help.
Old 05-11-2017, 02:41 PM