86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

HELP!!! 94 runner 3vze problems!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2015, 10:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP!!! 94 runner 3vze problems!!

Ive been working on my 94 4runner for about 2 months now and have put well over 30 hours $1600 into it, but still have the same problems i have been having with it. Is anyone willing to step by step help me figure out whats going wrong??
Old 10-14-2015, 10:54 PM

Originally Posted by ParkerG
Ive been working on my 94 4runner for about 2 months now and have put well over 30 hours $1600 into it, but still have the same problems i have been having with it. Is anyone willing to step by step help me figure out whats going wrong??
Overheating on freeway, temp gauge bouncing when engine is hot or rpm is over 3k.
Poor gas milage and power. 8mpg.
Does not start on first try.

Last edited by ParkerG; 10-14-2015 at 11:04 PM.
Old 10-15-2015, 04:36 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
I don't know the 3.0 but how clean is your cooling system and what kind of condition is it in. Timing belt and timing sit right? Catalytic converter clogged? All sensors clean and working? Vacuum lines clear of carbon, routed right? Water pump and fan clutch functioning correctly?
Old 10-15-2015, 07:15 AM

Overheating on freeway, temp gauge bouncing when engine is hot or rpm is over 3k.
Poor gas milage and power. 8mpg.
Does not start on first try.
Originally Posted by Terrys87
I don't know the 3.0 but how clean is your cooling system and what kind of condition is it in. Timing belt and timing sit right? Catalytic converter clogged? All sensors clean and working? Vacuum lines clear of carbon, routed right? Water pump and fan clutch functioning correctly?
Have you done a tune up lately (replace Cap, rotor, plugs, wires and oil)? Changed out the air filter, cleaned throttle body, cleaned battery contacts?