Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

head light bulb help

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2010, 06:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
head light bulb help

hey whats up guys i a new owner and had a fue questions. i have a 2nd gen 4runner and i was wanting brighter head lights. iv been thinkin about the hid light kit or just a pair of super white bulbs. i need brighter bulbs becuase i have some trouble seeing at night were im a welder. are the hids safe and worth it or just a waist of money
Old 10-27-2010, 05:38 PM

I got 55/110's in my 92.Sweet baby Jesus,do they light up the road on high beam.Before anybodys chimes in that they arent legal,neither are hid's.I got the replaceable bulb 6054 set from ebay,made by autopal,they arent DOT but they are so stealth that I have made it through 3 insepections without even a raised eyebrow.

Last edited by tim a.; 10-27-2010 at 05:41 PM.
Old 10-27-2010, 07:28 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
what year specifically?

there's two front end designs that have two different head light setups; one that uses sealed beams like the pickups, and one that has composite lights that use the smaller bulbs

you basically have 4 options; one which is fully legal, one that can be legal OR illegal, one that's COMPLETELY illegal, and one that costs a lot, requires the most work, but if done right will be legal and give the most light

1) Just get a set of higher end direct replacement bulbs, like Silverstars; completely DOT legal, and you can get them from any parts store

2) Buy a set of new aftermarket headlights that throw a different light pattern. some will throw a better light pattern and be a huge improvement, and some wont do squat for lighting, but look neat. This is the one that can be completely legal, or be completely illegal; the lights need to be DOT approved, and have the DOT stamp on them to be legal