86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Fire coming out of valve cover...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2013, 08:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fire coming out of valve cover...

First: Total noob question im sure, but no dice searching on yotatech or google. My apologies, but I am in no way mechanically inclined.

Truck is an 87 that I have had for 10 years. 200k miles on rebuilt engine...got stolen a couple times in the city so I have been trying to get her running well after sitting non-op for a couple years.

Just did a desmog (was a CA model), installed a weber 32/36 on a new to me intake manifold, and just got it back from getting my exhaust welded onto a DT header when I noticed fire shooting out of the valve cover. Its coming out of bolt on the driver side, closest to the radiator.

Only seems to happen after the engine gets close to temp. Other than that it seems to run fine. Did notice that my radiator cap needs to be replaced (ie leaking) but that appears to be it.

Any guidance on where to start would be appreciated...or just ridicule me mercilessly while posting the thread where this has already been answered...
Old 03-24-2013, 08:44 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Er and Uh. Holy crap man. Tell me your pulling our collective leg or something!

I'd like to assume you did something wrong on the "desmog". But I can't really.

It's either substancial damage to the head, or something pluged in wrong. start with a compression and leak down test, to rule out valve and head damage. And of course double check everything you just did, including vacuum lines and that stuff.
Old 03-24-2013, 08:46 PM

PS.. I for one could go for a laugh, but don't burn yourself
Old 03-24-2013, 10:18 PM

If I'm reading that correctly, then I'm going to have to assume a bad valve.

x2 on the compression and leak down.
Old 03-24-2013, 11:41 PM