Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Exhaust fab help

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust fab help

I'm trying to buy a house, so most of my money is going towards that, but I need to get my truck back on the road. Long story short, exhaust leaks are tricking my O2 sensor into telling the ECU to flood the engine after it enters closed loop mode. Once the engine reaches operating temp, it dies and won't idle, and the power is junk. I verified this diagnosis by reading the voltage output across the Vf and E1 connectors on the DLC. AFM also gave bogus resistance values, so I replaced that with one that read good, and TPS gave good numbers.

So, I am trying to put an exhaust together for cheap. Does anybody have good tips or tricks on doing this? Any templates out there to bend the tubing up? This is my first time doing this kind of work and really digging into my truck, so all help and advice is appreciated. Thanks!
Old 04-03-2013, 02:04 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Sounds like about $40 of exhaust work at an exhaust shop...
Old 04-03-2013, 02:24 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Best template is the old one, cheapest source for a new one is the salvage yard.

You might be better served by ordering the ready made forward pipe from someplace like rockauto. Just a guess but if you had the equipment to bend pipes you likely wouldn't be asking about how to template them

Bender, Expander, Cutter That'll put you about 50-60$ over the cost from rockauto, and doesn't account for flanges or sensor bung.
Old 04-03-2013, 02:27 PM

This is the situation where I take it to an exhaust shop and tell them exactly what to do and that I'm paying cash and I'm on a budget of x.xx dollars. How can we make this happen?
Old 04-04-2013, 08:45 AM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
where is your exhaust leaking?

Originally Posted by vasinvictor