86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Engine Noises (3vze)

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2010, 05:46 PM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Engine Noises (3vze)

Hey everybody! I'm brand new to yotatech (woot!) but i've had my 1992 pickup for about a year now and i've got some interesting noises coming from my 3vze that i'd like to throw your way and see what they could possibly be.

1-The first is a very concerning grinding noise that isn't constant, but lasts about 2 seconds with a few seconds in between. It's pretty erratic, but audible over the engine noise, even at 2500 rpm. It seems to be coming from somewhere around the middle of the engine, so i'm thinking maybe fan bracket bearing or #2 timing belt idler bearing. The water pump and #1 idler have been replaced.

2- The second noise is a loud ticking noise! I know this is pretty common on the v6, but it sounds like it's coming from around the top right area of the engine, around the right bank of injectors. Is this more likely to be a noisy injector, sticky valve, or something else? If it's an injector, is there any way to make them quieter, like taking them out and having them cleaned, seafoam, bg44, etc?

Thanks a lot everybody! I sure appreciate it!
Old 04-28-2010, 10:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm not familiar with that motor, so I can't help much.

For sound #1 - When does it make the sound, i.e. when driving, at idle in neutral, all the time, etc.? If you suspect something on the belt drive, etc., you could take the belt(s) off, and feel all the bearings/pulleys/etc. If you find anything loose, or doesn't spin freely, that would be a prime suspect.