Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Electrical Issue PLEASE HELP!

Old 11-29-2011, 07:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Electrical Issue PLEASE HELP!

So my Truck was dead yesterday when I went out side to start it. I didn't think to much of it. I figured that since there was no lights in the dash and absolutely nothing was happening when I turned the key the battery was probably dead. I took it down to Les Schwab and had them test the battery. They said that the battery was bad and replaced it. My truck was running fine, then this morning I went out and tried to start my truck with the same issue. I know it cant be a bad battery so Im really stumped. I know its most likely a draw from somewhere but I am no electrician and I have no idea where to start... My only guess is it may be coming from my rear window regulator since I've had issues with my rear window functioning properly...
Old 11-29-2011, 08:40 AM

Received 184 Likes on 132 Posts
Well, here's one thought, buy yourself a clamp on meter that can measure DC current. Clip it around the fusible link that goes from the fuse box to positive terminal, with ignition off, it should read a very very small amount of current. If it reads something excessive, start pulling fuses 1 at a time until it drops. Then at least you can isolate it to a particular circuit. From there, I suppose you could use the meter to trace where exactly the current is being drawn.

Is anything connected directly to the battery, like an aftermarket stereo, CB, alarm system? Are all accessories wired to power on only with ignition?
Old 11-29-2011, 10:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post