86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Cheapskate Ring Job?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 11:46 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cheapskate Ring Job?

Total noob question here. I've done a fair amount of upper engine work, but never been into the bottom end beyond an oil pan gasket, so I don't really know what I'm talking about. Please don't hurt yourself smacking your forehead, and go easy on me if I'm being stupid.

Given how easy it is to get into the low end of a 22RE in a Toyota truck, it has occured to me that it would be possible to do piston rings from underneath. Obviously, you wouldn't be honing the cylinders with the head still on, so it would be suboptimal. But a complete rebuild is expensive. If the choice is between "do just the rings" and "don't do anything" wouldn't it be worthwhile?

All of this is idle speculation, but a friend of mine recently picked up a Dolphin camper with a 22RE that burns a pint of oil every tank of gas. So suddenly I'm wondering how well this would work.... What do y'all think?
Old 04-08-2013, 12:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm pretty sure you have to pull the pistons out the top of the block to get to the rings. I haven't done it on a 22re yet, but every honda motor I worked on was that way. The pistons wont come out the bottom.
Old 04-08-2013, 12:27 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

You would invent a whole new language cursing the day you tried this.

First off there is this little thing called a ring compressor that allows the rings to be compressed till the pistons are tapped into the block from the top.

Then you would have to remove the crank which means the transmission needs to come out

then pull off all the timing goodies.

No it really can`t be done!!!****

You can if need be change the bearings it is a pain but can be done
Old 04-08-2013, 12:30 PM