86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

changing rear brakes

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2008, 10:02 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
changing rear brakes

I cant find any info on this from the search, and I have never done this before. But I want to change my rear pads myself. Any tips or something I should know that would help me?
Old 07-24-2008, 10:06 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
pick up a manual Its easy just take your time and keep track of the nuts and bolts. Also search a bit more I bet you can find a write up on this forum
Old 07-24-2008, 10:07 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Also one more thing are you sure you really need new shoes in the rear? They last a real long time and one thing you could do it adjust them to get more brake out of them
Old 07-24-2008, 10:17 AM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Make a copy of the FSM guidelines or get a Haynes manual. It makes the job easier to follow procedural like.

Having a brake tool really helps for pulling and reinstalling springs and retainers. Any auto store should have them.

Have plenty of rags, brake cleaner, and do one at a time so you have a good reference. If you take them both apart at the same time, you may wind up forgetting how they go back together. So, jack the rear up, take off both wheels, but...again...do one side at a time.

Also, have two new wheel cylinders on hand in the event you get in there find yours to be marginal. You don't want to have to take them apart twice. In this case, you'll need a quart of brake fluid for flushing/bleeding the lines.

Don't get any fluids on the shoes. A little won't hurt, but just be careful.

Actually....come to think of it...you might want to just pull the drums off before you really tear anything down to see if the drums need turning. If you find one does, both will need to be done. Then, you might want to have a back up vehicle handy to take them in.