Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Brake system problem please help

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 04:23 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The SAGA continues.......Brake system problem

I was a tech for many years and have never paid anyone to fix anything of mine. I am very mechanicaly inclined however my 90 runner has got me baffeled again!

Long story...

Fri- front brakes making noise needs pads and rotors. Installed, repacked bearings, ect ect. everything went fine. To remove the hub i choose to undo the brake line from the caliper instead of unbolting the tie rod bracket. No big deal just had to bleed the brakes afterwards. bleeding went fine.

Sat- perfect! good braking

Sun- hope in runner to go for a cruise. half way out of my neighbor hood front brakes stuck. I force it back to the house stopping for ten min intervals every few 100 feet to let cool down a little.
Left front caliper stuck (i also check right side but it was not stuck). Crack bleeder screw, compressed pistons(pistons moved freely). I bleed down caliper and notice that there seems to be no pressure building and pistons are not moving so I check right side ..same thing. so I am thinking master cyl.
and I crack the front feed line loose at the master and as I expected no fluid squirting. Buy new master bench bleed fluid squirting out of both ports. I bench test old master, fluid only out of rear port. It looks like problem found YAY!!!............ WRONG!! Put new master on and start the bleeding process(i have always been told farthest first). I get good press and fluid out of rears,
left front same problem a slight drip that never gains any pressure. Right front a little better.