Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Bad vibrations - introduction and some issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2015, 06:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Bad vibrations - introduction and some issues

Howdy folks. Name's Derek. Lurked here for a couple years on and off, always had a thing for the old Yotas.
87 automatic trans 4WD, 22RE

Last Friday, put some smaller (stock size) wheels and tires on, those 31s felt slow as dog ass. Get home that night, doing 65 or so, truck is doing fine as usual. Get home, put it in park, notice a bit of a squealing sound (not the first time). I figured it was the PS belt, because it looks really cracked. Killed the truck and didn't sweat it.
Next day, go out to start it, truck takes more than a few cranks. Engine is noisier than usual. Some squealing sounds, but I'm not sure of much-I wrench on my own rides but I'm no mechanic. Thought I heard some clattering sound.
Listening to it idle, the motor starts to shake like it's misfiring. Some smoke starts coming out of SOMETHING under the hood and it gets worse. I started diagnosing-pulled plug wire #1, engine dies. Start it again. Smoking from somewhere under hood, but not out of exhaust?? Giving it some throttle, more smoke. Near as I can tell it's emanating from engine front, around crank pulley?

Feared the worst. Drained oil to check for metal pieces-none, and oil is not milky, looks perfectly fine. Coolant levels ok, never had to add any fluid, and no evidence of oil in coolant (I didn't drain that though).
Put fresh oil in. I ran a compression check- 120 to 150 psi on all cylinders. Not great but not terrible :/
Changed spark plugs and plug wires (damn cylinder #4, I cross threaded that one on a different truck a year ago).