Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Is this bad???

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2008, 07:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this bad???

My 4Runner has had a slight vibration in the rear between 60-65mph.
So tonight I got underneath and found this:

Specs: 94' 4Runner 22re 180K 5 Speed Stock Suspension with 31s
I haven't taken it off the road in over 4 months.

I am new to the Toyota scene and would appreciate any input.

Joshua
Old 09-02-2008, 07:41 PM

check the oil level, then pull the whole third member out and either buy a new gasket for it or use differential form-a-gasket. the formagasket works great and is much cheaper so i would recomend that. hopefully your vibration is being caused by something else and not damage to the gears from oil starvation.
Old 09-02-2008, 07:41 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
looks like you got a leaky diff seal
Old 09-02-2008, 07:42 PM

make very sure that your breather is moving freely... also, if the leak continues, then there is just a gasket on the rear diff seal.. not to big of a job. check lube before continuing to drive!!!
Old 09-02-2008, 07:44 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
or maybe leaking drain plug?
I say that 'cause it looks cleaner than the rest of the housing so has probably been seeing oil longer.
Old 09-02-2008, 07:49 PM
Sponsor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
pull the 3rd member, clean it up and throw new RTV on it... make sure the diff breather is clean and extend it while your under there.. pulling the 3rd is pretty easy in the rear. jack it up, throw it on jack stands. 4 bolts on each side and the brake lines allow you to slide the axle out (tire, rim brake drum and all) then pull the 3rd member....
Old 09-02-2008, 07:53 PM

Thanks for the help guys! I need some further help:

What is a breather - and how do I check it?

How do I check the oil - and what kind of oil do I put in?
Old 09-02-2008, 08:00 PM
Sponsor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts