Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Add-A-Leaf or new springs for rear?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 07:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Add-A-Leaf or new springs for rear?

First off, I'm new to the Toyota truck scene so please forgive my ignorance.

The rear of my truck is sagging a little bit and I've been looking at new rear leaf springs or buying one of those extra leaf kits. The extra leaf looks less expensive but are there any big disadvantages? Any that you would recommend or have tried? I looked under the back and it looks pretty simple, is the leaf something that can be added with just a jack and some wrenches? Thanks for the advice!
Old 06-05-2009, 08:31 PM

Welcome father, an add a leaf in each rear spring pack is cheap and easy. You may need a longer center pin for the thicker spring pack. Easy enough to make with the right length bolt. However I don't think you will like the ride unless you always carry weight in the rear. Empty it will likely bounce around a bit. I've seen guys keep a bag or 2 of redi-mix concrete in the center of their bed to keep it from bouncing around.

A lot depends on how you plan on using the truck. I like replacing the spring pack but then you may have a high rear end. Who knows then you might want to crank up your torsion bars to level things out.

A third option is to re-arc your current springs. That would pick up the height but wouldn't affect spring rate. You will have the same ride quality as now but sit a little taller.

Good luck
Old 06-05-2009, 10:10 PM

I'm having the same dilemma, my rear springs are shot & I do have a fiberglass camper along with roughly 100-150 pounds of water, tools, spare tires (2), hi-lift, oil, beer, etc, in the back of my rig at all times.