Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

About to install BJ spacers....need advice..

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2008, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
About to install BJ spacers....need advice..

OK so I am fairly new to this. I have a 92 4runner and Im gonna install some 1.5" spacers. I have the instructions but I just wanted to know if there is anything to look out for. If anyone has any advice from their own experience Id love it. Id just like to know how difficult it is, how long it will take roughly, and the do's and dont's. Thanks guys.
Old 11-03-2008, 05:20 PM

do you have air tools? if not I would recommend doing it with some. It made mine so much easier. I did the rear springs and shocks without air tools and it took about an 2 hours, and the front with air tools took about an hour for bj spacers and new shocks.
Old 11-03-2008, 05:27 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
make sure that the inside of the rim and/or tire is not going to come in contact with the upper control arm when the spacers are installed.
if either the rim or tire are closer to the frame than the outside edge of the upper control arm, you will most likely have a problem.
Old 11-03-2008, 05:28 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
soak your upper ball joint nuts with some PB blaster for a couple of days before even starting; that's always good practice...
Old 11-03-2008, 08:22 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Make sure you have a solid spacer to fit between the UCA and upper bumpstop. Peices of wood don't work!

Hit your hardware with PB blaster (or alike) a few times before you give'r
Old 11-03-2008, 08:26 PM

Received 120 Likes on 59 Posts
Originally Posted by abecedarian
make sure that the inside of the rim and/or tire is not going to come in contact with the upper control arm when the spacers are installed.