Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

95 4Runner steering and suspension

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 03:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
95 4Runner steering and suspension

Hey there world of Yotatech!

Well, this is my first post here, and I want to start this off by stating that I'm (1) a new-ish owner of a 1995 4Runner with the infamously lackluster 3.slo, (2) new to Toyota trucks in general, as this is my first rig at all and I've only owned it for about 6 months and (3) I'm also new to the world of mechanics in general, so I don't claim to know all there is to know about anything, I'm here to learn, and feel free to correct me if there's something I'm missing.

Now, to what I came here for...

I bought my 4Runner back in January after much research, as I knew I wanted a 4x4 SUV and the options are many. I picked it up for $2000, put into it probably close to $1500 over the last 6 months with a set of A/Ts, an oil change, air filter change, brake fluid replacement and some serious suspension and steering work.

I've recently replaced the shocks myself, as that's an easy job and I couldn't justify paying someone else to do it when I have enough confidence in my capabilities to do it myself at this point in time. However my mechanic replaced a cv axle, and the pitman and idler arms, and the suspension and steering just don't feel "the same" as when I first bought it. Should I just take it for what it is, or should I take another look at it. The steering in general is pretty tight, and straight, but on the freeway my 4Runner feels really floaty. Any suggestions? Thanks for any and all positive feedback!
Old 06-03-2015, 05:38 PM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts