Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

95 4runner 3.0 head/engine removal

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 09:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
95 4runner 3.0 head/engine removal

Im a newbie here.. and im going to do what alot of forums hate, but i havent been able to find the info needed, so im going to just ask..
I picked up a 05 4runner 3.0 with a problem no one has ever had to fix...the cyl. head gaskets are blown (said with alot of sarcasm ) anyways it was a great deal..and the work has been started. i have seen alot of stuff on a recall, so today im going to see if it is within the dates, and see if the recall is still applicable.. but the question is.. is there any write up on the head removals? i havent been able to find much.. i was a gm mechanic, so i can figure it out, but i know there is always "tricks"....so any tips would be wicked awesome...
I am also thinking about just yanking the motor and doing a complete reseal.. it came with all the gaskets, so why not? and tips on engige removal?
oh and... it came with some aftermarket head gaskets? i should probably go oe? they arent even flepro..
Thanks in advance for info, And i am happy to finally be 4x4 toyota owner.. I will post pics of my progress
Old 02-17-2011, 04:10 PM

I'm a new toyota owner myself after owning pretty much nothing but GM, I don't share the same happy feeling as you though with my owning a toyota thus far Everything is so foriegn to me, but maybe a happy feeling will come with time once I get to know my truck a little better.
Personally, I think the LAST gasket I'd want to use is the same one that has you needing to use them in the first place. JMO. I've always had great luck with felpro.

Last edited by newTOyotas; 02-17-2011 at 04:13 PM.
Old 02-18-2011, 06:54 AM