86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'94 Pickup No Power, Terrible MPG

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 09:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'94 Pickup No Power, Terrible MPG

Ok, I'm rather puzzled on this one. I AM a bit of a newb, as in I have BASIC knowledge of internal combustion, change my own oil, and do as much of the regular maintenance as I can on my own. I HAVE recently downloaded the service manual for my truck as well, so hopefully that will help for repairs/replacements too.

Problem:
Several months ago I began to notice what I believe was a VERY intermittent misfire (as identified by a friend riding along with me). This RARELY happened, and as such was not much of a concern to me (bad?).

Anyways, about 2 weeks ago (+/-) while driving home from a 200 mile trip, in my last mile or so the intermittent misfire turned into misfires left and right.

This went on for a couple days where when I would start the car, it would make a good bit of noise, there was no power (acceleration was practically nonexistant), it was just terrible. Additionally, after the engine would warm up, if I let off the gas it would quickly drop down to between 450-500 rpm for a period of maybe 3-5 seconds, often times sputtering out after that. After making several concerned phone calls, I, based off of recommendation, replaced the spark plugs and ignition wires.

IMMEDIATELY the misfire problem was gone, for the most part the engine idle seems to be back to normal, and the engine no longer dies at idle after warm up. HOWEVER, there is virtually NO power!