86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

90 pickup blower problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2016, 07:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
90 pickup blower problems

Okay so. First off I'm new at electrical work. Bare with the possibly stupid questions because I could really use some input with the heating system/blower in my 1990 v6 pickup. My baby n my beast.

About a year ago it started only blowing on full power. Swapped out the regulator and it worked fine on all speeds thrill the other day. Had the heat on, turned the truck off for 15min or so then when I cranked her back up. The blower was dead. Straight nothing.

A few days later I tore the passenger side dash apart to get at the 30amp fuse. It was fine but I swapped in a new one anyways. Took a look at the regulator which looked like it did the day I installed it. I read a few posts and started combing the internet. When I flick the power back n forth I can hear and feel the relay switch clicking, which from my research means it's functional. I decided to pull it and visually inspect it anyways. It was alll wet as soon as it freed up, on the inside it's all green and corroded. Means she's burnt right? Are 30 amp relays universal? It's worth picking one up regardless is what I'm thinking.

Secondly. During all this electrical and melee of wires I decided to pick up a 12v test light at Canadian tire (my home away from home haha). I havnt tried it out yet but I'm planning on getting a few good hours of work done on the truck next weekend. So my question is, how do I properly check the blower system with the test light? That way I can narrow the problemed section down.

Anybody with any input is totally welcome. I'm all ears. I know several of these other threads have helped me out so I thought I'd take a stab at my own.

Thanks everyone. Happy trails.
Old 02-07-2016, 08:53 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts