Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

89 p/u w/ 22re has no acceleration, won't go over 45mph

Old 07-31-2013, 04:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
89 p/u w/ 22re has no acceleration, won't go over 45mph [SOLVED]

I'm calling this one fixed; see #31. Timing was off. I still need to tweak the tuning, but behaviour has become acceptable.

I have an 89 pickup with the 22RE engine, 4x4, 5-speed manual, extended cab. I got it from my brother for free when he couldn't drive a stick any more (back injury). The odometer claims thirty-something-thousand, which I don't believe.

Important information: I am NOT a mechanic, nor a vehicle modder of any sort. I'm going to need pretty pictures and explanations of any acronyms.

Things I know for certain:
  • The truck will start and run.
  • The idle is set low (part of the troubleshooting prior to me getting it).
  • It takes a block or more to get above 20mph.
  • It will not exceed 45mph without a long downhill run.
  • On flat ground, I can only do 40mph when in third gear (going into fourth drops enough power that it slows down - even when flooring the gas).

Things my brother told me before he gave it to me:
  • 'It's the advance.'
  • 'The distributor needs to be replaced to fix the advance.'

I know basically just enough to know what the distributor is. I looked at it, made the decision that the distributor shouldn't be the problem (it spins when it's told to, and it's spinning and firing cylinders). Then, I tracked the wires back to a little electronic box (I know the big one just carries the power for firing the cylinders). So, I asked my brother which part of the distributor needed to be replaced - 'the distributor itself' or 'the little electronic control box' - and he didn't know.

Any suggestions? Feel free to tell me if I missed out any important information.

Thanks in advance!