Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

89 4runner and some front end concerns

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2015, 08:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
89 4runner and some front end concerns

Howdy guys,

I recently posted about trading my 2001 impreza for an 89 4runner and I've come across only one issue when inspecting the truck.

The body rust was absolutely minimal for a 25 year old vehicle, which was really surprising to me, and upon a decent looking over I found absolutely no rust on the frame whatsoever. There seemed to be no leaks from the oil pan, head gasket valve covers or anywhere else that I could notice. The wheel wells were in good order. It has a salvaged title because apparently the previous owner wrecked it on the passenger side, but he was a body guy by trade and fixed it up himself with the money from the insurance claim, and then painted the whole thing with Rhino lining.

The interior was pretty nasty, nothing that a good cleaning won't fix, but none of the wiring seemed to be chaotic and jerry rigged, but I've yet to check behind the dashboard. The rear window however was jerry rigged, but still worked. I feel like it's something I'll be fixing in the near future if I still decide to go through with this trade.

The only major issue I found was the outside boots of the cv axles were torn and I decided the whole axle would need replacing. After talking it over with the guy I'm trying to decided on a total trade something like this:

My car in exchange for 2 new cv axles, a 22 rifle and 200 rounds of ammunition to go with it.

From the sounds of it, he's gonna go with the trade and I'll have me a new 4runner to start tinkering with and eventually turn into a South America-kayak-toting-raft-carrying-adventure-mobile.

My now long overdue question for yall masters of the yotatech is the following. How easy will it be to replace my cv axles, and if I replace everything else on the front end like pitman arms, ball joints, tie rod ends?