86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

87 4Runner Rear Window

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2009, 05:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
87 4Runner Rear Window

I've searched the forum and found a bunch on the various electrical problems associated with rear windows, but nothing quite like what seems to plaguing my truck. My rear window had been working fine, until a recent cold snap. Now even when it's warm, the window motor will engage and move it down 1/8 inch or so then nothing. I can move it back up that 1/8 inch too. Same from both switches. Judging from the lights dimming, the motor is still trying, so I don't think this is an electrical issue. Rather the window seems stuck at about 1/8 inch of the way down. FWIW it also seems that the right side isn't moving that 1/8 inch or so when the left is; so maybe just one side is stuck. As a newbie, I thought I would check and see if there are any great ideas of dealing with this. My thoughts are to pull the inner panel and look at the linkage/tracks for the window. And hopefully get it to go down so that I can work on it from the outside. Are there any clever tricks for getting the window down at least once, without pulling the panel (so I can work from the outside)? TIA

Last edited by Steve777; 12-20-2009 at 05:41 PM.
Old 12-20-2009, 05:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
sounds like a track issue to me since you notice the electrical "pull" when trying it, and the right side doesn't seem to move. your best bet is to crawl back there with a flashlight and tools and go to work. maybe it has a slight leak around the felt and it has frozen the tracks since it has only started after the cold weather came? is it parked outside in the rain/snow or inside?
Old 12-20-2009, 06:14 PM