86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

4runner smoking

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2017, 04:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4runner smoking

Hi, I have a 1988 4runner with a 4 cylinder engine that has been rebuilt. It may have 1000 miles on it at the most. It ran good until the radiator started leaking and ended up blowing a head gasket. After replacing the head gasket the engine runs good but smokes. It doesn't start smoking until the engine warms up. I was going to get someone to adjust the valves since i've never done it before although, I would think it was a simple process. My question is, if the valves are not adjusted correctly would that cause the engine to smoke or do I have other problems? Before removing the head I poured some marvel mystery oil into the cylinders to help prevent rust since water got into the cylinders however, I have operated the engine, at idle speed, on three different occasions bringing it to normal operating temperature hoping the MMO was causing the smoke but I would think after three times it should be gone. Another question I have, before the radiator started leaking I was having alternator problems so "ALL" the dash lights came on. The lights would come on for a little while and then go off so when they came on again I just thought it was still the alternator so I kept driving so I could get home before dark without using the headlights. I didn't know the lights were on this time because the engine was overheating. I was told Toyota designed these lights to all come on at once to get your attention. Is that true? If so, why would Toyota design all the lights to come on at once.The 4runner also has a gauge but it never indicated the engine was overheating so I may have a bad gauge or sending unit. Any advice is appreciated.
Old 05-16-2017, 05:27 PM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts