Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

3VZE with low vac, rough idle, and strange noise

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2015, 06:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3VZE with low vac, rough idle, and strange noise

Hi everyone,
I'm a seasoned mechanic and have just picked up an awesome 1992 Mini-camper with Toyota pickup chassis. It has the 3.0L 3VZE motor with 73,000mi on the clock. I'm new to this motor and I'm still learning its quirks. This thing has been very well cared for overall, all maintenance records. Including head gasket recall work done by Toyota years ago. It drives great, but has a rough or stumbling idle that is driving me nuts. All the vitals look good, replaced the plugs that looked worn, but all showed a healthy off white, normal deposits for old plugs. Found a small vacuum leak or two and that helped a little bit. New O2 sensor, seemed to help quite a bit with smoothing out the idle, but it's still a bit shaky. Also, the best idle vacuum I can get out of it is 15-16, and there is a strange "spitting" sound coming out of the intake (see link of video). When I first bought it, I assumed the noise was a idler pulley getting noisy, because it sounds very similar. And this is a motorhome, so it's sits more than a DD.

So my questions are: 1)WTH is that noise in the intake? Is that normal for these things? Sounds like a leak, or partially clogged idle circuit? But I can't confirm either of those... 2) Is that vacuum (avg 15-16in/hg,fairly steady) normal for an otherwise low mile and seemingly healthy motor? 3) If I pull the crankcase breather hose on the drivers side near the throttle body, that connects from the main intake hose to valve cover, it will stall. That tells me that this thing is very reliant on accurate crankcase pressure for (PCV valve?) for a proper tune?