Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

3VZE Head Gasket Project Questions

Old 05-22-2017, 07:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3VZE Head Gasket Project Questions

Hey everyone,

I’m currently tearing apart the 3VZE in my ‘91 pickup to replace the head gasket. I’m about 75% of the way done, and thought it would be a good time to ask a couple of questions. Any help would be appreciated.
  1. Since I have the engine torn apart, and access to things that I normally wouldn’t, are there other parts/components that I should look at replacing or inspecting to see the condition?
  2. Can someone give a recommendation on a good company to buy the gasket and other parts from?
  3. I am no expert, and this is by far the biggest project I’ve attempted before. Any hints or words of advice that could be helpful when I start putting it back together?
  4. I’ve been reading about the exhaust crossover pipe, and how that has a lot to do with the head gasket problems on the 3VZE, and so I’d like to get rid of it. Could use a recommendation on a good brand of headers. If I install headers do I have to change the rest of the exhaust? Or are they manufactured so they’ll match up?
  5. Also, is there a cheaper option instead of headers? If I could weld I figure I would probably be able to make something, but I can’t.

Thanks
Old 05-23-2017, 07:51 PM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
1) knock sensor and/or wire inspection. injector service (if it's not been done in the last 100k), timing belt, pulley, water pump. that's all i can think of right now
2) i got my gaskets from o'reilly. it's been a lot of years since and no probs. fel-pro, as i recall. i got the new headbolts from engnbldr.com...pretty sure. may have been rock auto
3) chase all the threads very well for the headbolts. a little lube on the bolts, too. use new bolts, btw. and follow the procedure to the T.