Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22re Timing Chain Problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2011, 04:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 22re Timing Chain Problem

Hello everyone,

Firstly, thank you all for posting. This community has been a very valuable resource to me already, though this is my first time contributing to a thread. I have a 1991 4x4 pickup, 22re, engine overheated after driving the truck across the country. After she overheated, I saw thee globby gray goo under the oil filler cap, and I drove her to the shop. They told me there might be a timing chain problem, as they could hear a rattle at high RPM. They did a sniffer test and detected low levels of hydrocarbons in the exhaust, and were hesitant to diagnose a head gasket leak. They said if there was a leak, it was slight as of yet. They focused more on the timing chain sound. Said it was ok to drive, so long as it didn't belch the white smoke and didn't continue to overheat. I was scared, so I just parked the vehicle.

When I tried to fire it up a week later, that nasty white smoke started to show up. Didn't drive her anywhere, just shut her off. I saw some threads on here about the timing chain chewing through the TC cover, so figured I'd check it out. Pulled the valve cover this afternoon and it was a MESS inside.

Timing chain guide is obliterated on driver's side. Chain has been chewing into the cover on that side. How can I tell if the chain has chewed through the cover wall totally, and determine whether this is the route of entry for coolant/water that is gunking everything up?

Also, any recommendations on how to go about cleaning the gunk out of the engine? Will I need to remove the head at this point, just to clean everything out- even if the head gasket is ok?

Again, thank you all SO much for your help. Pics coming soon!
Old 01-31-2011, 04:46 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts