Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re timing chain

Old 06-09-2009, 11:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re timing chain

It seems as if I need a new timing chain in my 22re. I was hearing a ticking noise, and after some looking around, i removed the valve cover and looked down in there and saw that the chain was rubbing up against the metal and had rubbed away a small amount of metal from the cover. Now, I assume that this means that the driver's side guide broke. My question is, is this a hard fix to do by myself, I have very little mechanical knowledge, but I have a variety of mechanical tools from my dad. I have also seen various walkthroughs on the internet, but it all seems kinds of scary all the stuff I have to take off. Thanks
Old 06-09-2009, 01:03 PM

Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
Hey give it a try, i had to remove my cyl head recently, (broken spark plug),.
i had never done something like that before, i just used Shop man, googled for engine pics and took my time, tape and mark all lines n tubes. i had taken a large roll of blank news print , covered a 4x8 plywood sheet, and marked in order on the paper what i took off, looked a mess but i got through it, ps change out fuel filter , while you can see it, and torque the fittings, i had not and when i started it fuel was squirting out all over, to make a long story short take ya time, drink beer after ya done
Old 06-09-2009, 02:32 PM

Alright thanks, Whats a good kit to get?
Old 06-09-2009, 02:58 PM

Received 50 Likes on 40 Posts