86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22re head gasket help!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2009, 01:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re head gasket help!!!!!!!!

Can anyone send me some references to changing a head gasket on a 22re?
Also the timing chain and sprockets since I will be taking the whole darn thing apart!
already saw this one:
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...nt-pics-88722/

Anything helps...
also what tools will I need? any special ones? Any repair manuals or links to how much torque certain bolts are??
I'm assuming I will need a torque wrench...?
Do i need to replace all the gaskets as I go along??

Thanks in advance for all your help. I'm quite new to fixing my car myself but I'm loving every minute of it!!!
Old 05-30-2009, 05:24 PM

Definitely do a search on here, you'll find more than you need. A Hayne's and Chilton's manual helps a whole lot too. I didn't need any tools out of the ordinary. I used a torque wrench on the head bolts. Take pictures and label vacuum hoses as you go too.
Old 05-30-2009, 06:32 PM

Is haynes or chiltons manual better?
As in do you prefer one over the other?
Old 05-30-2009, 06:32 PM

Sorry how rude of me,......THANKS FOR RESPONDING!!!!!!!!
Old 05-30-2009, 06:46 PM

Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
both manuals good, like he said tape and mark everything you take apart and take pics, and or find some good pics on here,,,,,,, remember allen bolt under thermostat, and bolt in head (front) under oil pool, go slow , don't drink beer and change out your fuel filter or relocate it on fender on left side, good luck
Old 05-30-2009, 06:59 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
and "clean, clean, clean"
oil or debris around the head bolt area WILL affect things.
Old 05-30-2009, 07:40 PM

Thanks!! I was just reading that my timing cover may be chewed through???