Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22R TE what could it be? Rough idle - power lacking

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 05:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22R TE what could it be? Rough idle - power lacking

Hell y'all, I just found your forum while looking for answers to a power problem with my truck. Not only am I new to your forum but I am new to Toyota in general having just got my first Toyota a few days ago. I've always had chevy's and gmc trucks before, I think I'll be happy with the change...

I have a 1986 Truck, with 22R TE engine, turbo charged.

I bought the truck under the assumption of the previous owner that the the turbo waste gate was faulty, he claimed to cause a loss of power on acceleration at higher rpms... I havent checked this yet, as Im having problems off the start.

Let me first mention the green indicator light in the truck displays the turbo as working fine, although its just a dumb light

The problem Im having is that the truck starts up fine, but once the engine warms up the idle becomes rough... there is a major lack of power, although it gets going and drives pretty well except for feeling bogged down, and low power. Once back in idle or in low gear and reverse the truck will stall out warm... the brakes also seem to not have any pressure?

So im wondering if this has anything to do with the turbo? My impression, (although this is my first turbo), is that it shouldn't, and I have a vacuum leak, or problem with either the mass air flow, EGR, or idle air valve or possibly fuel supply/air intake problems? I have not attempted to adjust the idle, as the lack of power seems to point otherwise...

any comments or help is much appreciated, im hella confused here as I cant find a lot of info about the turbo units on these trucks... I bought the Chilton Manuel and it doesn't even mention it! (stick with Haynes)...

Matt - Nor Cal

Last edited by Tigue710; 03-02-2012 at 05:58 PM.