Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1994 v6 3.0L 4runner - check engine light, low(ish) oil pressure, help please!

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2011, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1994 v6 3.0L 4runner - check engine light, low(ish) oil pressure, help please!

Hi guys. I'm new to the forum. Actually, I'm new to 4runners in general, but I just bought a 1994 v6 3.0L 2WD and I'm starting to believe the guy who sold it to me was either a liar or a complete idiot. So now I'm afraid there may be a few problems that I was not anticipating. I'm low on funds, so I'm trying to educate myself as much as possible about the vehicle (which I immediately fell in love with, but am totally clueless about) so that I can work on it myself when feasible. I just need a little help for where to start.

1. The first problem I noticed seems to be a problem with the power steering (?). The steering wheel is starting to jump a bit, especially when first pulling out after starting the car. What's the most likely culprit? Power steering pump? Tie End Rods?

2. Secondly, and even more concerning, the check engine light came on yesterday. No clue why. All gauges were holding steady and normal, with the exception of the oil pressure, which seems to consistently hang out on the low side (just shy of (or right on top of) the low end "normal" mark). I know there is oil in it. I just changed it and have been checking it religiously. I also replaced the air filter, and checked/topped-off the coolant, brake fluid, power steering fluid, and every other fluid I can think of.