Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1994 4runner 4wd issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2013, 04:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1994 4runner 4wd issues

Hello all,

First off, I'm not a mechanic, but I can do simple things with the right instructions.

I have a 1994 Toyota 4runner SR5 V6 with 4wd and a 5sp manual. I recently got the head gaskets replaced and clutch replaced by a mechanic, but a few problems have come about.

When I move the shift lever into 4wd, i hear a click from the dashboard (relay?) , but I don't get a 4wd light on the dash. I've tried driving it a bit, but the light never comes on. I can't feel much of a difference in 4H, but the ratio in 4L seems normal, but i don't know if all 4 wheels are working. When I recently got my oil changed, the diff was lubed as well.

Another small issue is my reverse lights don't seem to be working. I've seen a few threads saying both the reverse lights and 4wd indicator wires go to similar places, but when I looked under my truck at the diff, I didn't see any loose wires. I even unplugged some and plugged them back in to make sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old 06-24-2013, 06:02 AM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
You have ADD, so the sound could be the solenoids on the right apron. http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...26addcontr.pdf Check to be sure the vacuum lines are correctly connected at the differential.

If the 4wd engages, you should notice a very different steering feel on dry pavement, and on a reasonable sharp turn (SLOW) you should hear the front tires squealing.
Old 06-25-2013, 01:40 PM

Hey, thanks for the reply.

I didn't get a chance to look at it yesterday, as the only time I had available was when it was raining :/