Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1993 T100 3vze revs to a certain point then cuts out

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2014, 07:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 T100 3vze revs to a certain point then cuts out

==Updated==

Ok, so I've read all the threads I could find on this and I still am unable to fix it. I have a lot of experience with these motors, but this has me stumped.

Before I started all of this, the truck ran through the whole rpm range, but lacked power.
So I checked timing and I couldn't get my timing set right, couldn't rotate the distributor enough counter clockwise and the jumper wire did not change my timing at all. So I removed the throttle body and adjusted the tps according to the fsm specs. Put the throttle body back on and now the jumper wire worked as it should and I could set the timing correctly. In solving this problem I think I've created another. Now when I start my truck up cold, it will idle fine but if I rev it up it cuts out at 3000 until it drops a few hundred rpms. When the truck has warmed up it does the same thing, only now it won't rev over 1500 rpms. Checked and rechecked the tps, replaced it with a new one, checked the tps signal at the ecu, no problems there. While I was doing this work it was drizzling rain outside, so I figured maybe I got some sensor connection wet. So I detached vafm, tps, distributor connectors and dried them out with a heat gun. No change. Pulled dist cap, bone dry underneath. When I unplug the tps the rpms change a little so i suppose it is doing its job.

I don't know what to check from here. Any opinions? Thanks guys

Last edited by Chrisz; 12-21-2014 at 03:48 PM.
Old 11-24-2014, 04:52 AM

If your saying you couldn't turn the distributor enough to get it timed right. That sounds like its off a tooth
Old 11-24-2014, 04:58 AM