Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1993 pickup 3VZE engine trouble

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2010, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 pickup 3VZE engine trouble

I'm new to Yotatech so i apologize if i'm not doin any of this right, but here we go. haha

Drive a 1993 pickup ext. cab with the 3.0

I replaced the radiator about a month ago and since haven't had any problems until last night. Started the truck drove about 100 yards and the CEL came on. Today i ran a jumper wire in the diagnosis box from TE1 to E1 to see what the ECU said the problem was and came up with these codes:

14 Ignition signal
24 Intake Air Temperature Sensor signal
31 Air Flow Meter signal (Vacuum Sensor signal)
52 Knock Sensor signal

I got these OBD1 Codes from http://www.troublecodes.net/Toyota/ i assume they're accurate but then again i could be wrong.

Also i've noticed in the last two days that under acceleration at about 1500 to 2100 rpm the engine seems to bog down quite a bit. I hadn't previously noticed this and am wondering if its some kind of vacuum leak. Also the Oil Pressure gauge does not seem to be fluctuating as it normally does with these motors between engine speeds.

What should i infer from the codes, i have a decent amount of automotive knowledge but am thinking maybe this is too extensive and i should just go get it checked out.

Any suggestions on what i should start looking for under the hood? i dont fully understand what the codes mean and want to know what i should look for. thanks

-km
Old 05-06-2010, 07:15 PM

Diagnosing automotive electrical isn't my forte either, but here's what I have to offer.

From my understanding, a CEL will signal whenever a component signal either isn't there (open condition), or a reading is out of spec (faulty sensor and / or short/ground condition). Besides the fact that one of these conditions exist, the ECU can't pinpoint it anymore than that.