Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1993 4x4 truck V6 Questions

Old 04-08-2017, 08:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 4x4 truck V6 Questions

I bought my truck brand new Christmas of 92. Only thing I've done is one set of breaks and a power steering pump and a factory recall head gasket and timing belt at 90K. It now has 246K and the clutch is starting to fail so I'm going to fix her up new again since I can't bring myself to sell it. Is there a better clutch to get than another? Looking to redo the interior seats but the guy I got a quote for the two front seats from was 800.00. Thats sounds like way too much to me. Has anyone had theirs done and price? Also I want to rebuild the engine but a buddy told me doing so screws these engines up.. I am NO mechanic other than I can tell you about whats wrong but no idea how to fix it lol. I've put a camper top on it and want to raise it with bigger tires but I put 32 x 10.50s on one time and they rubbed. How do you fix that? My plan is make it a toy 4x4 out of it like a bug out truck with new bumpers, camper top, roof rack on top of the cab. { anyone know what rack would work for this?} Any suggestions or pics of yours is appriciated. Like said I'm no tech guy I just want to make a cool toy out of it now and don't want to get ripped off because I don't know much. Adverage engine rebuild cost? Clutch replacement cost? Thanks guys in advance.
Old 04-08-2017, 02:38 PM

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
If and when I have to replace my clutch I will probably use Asin parts. Is the engine using oil? If its not, I wouldn't worry about rebuilding it until I had to and if I did I would pick my mechanic carefully. I would find someone with a proven record on Toyotas. I had my front and rear seats upholstered about 5 years ago and it cost 500. Local shop did it for me and they did all right.
Old 04-10-2017, 09:29 AM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts